Holy Grail of all Foundation….

image           image

 

When it comes to foundation I feel like I’ve tried and tested my fair share, but there is always that one I fall back on time and time again.

For reference my skin is oily, mainly in the T Zone, VERY problematic (and I’m in my mid twenties)and uneven. So, when I look for a foundation I look for good coverage, mattifying and long wearing. I’ve tried foundations such as Revlon colourstay (if there’s such a thing as too heavy this is it for me) L’oreal True Match which was the most PERFECT colour for me but not good for the oil, Estée Lauder full cover, made me look like a geisha girl. Not that there is anything wrong with that of course but I like my skin to look a bit more real than the effect it gave me. It really does cover every single imperfection on your face but it’s quite hard to create a bit of life back in your face even with the use of bronzer and blusher! Mac studio fix, this definitely in my opinion is not for oily skinned girls, it slips about all over the place after a few hours and oxidises like a….well you know! Laura Mercier, Clinique, Chanel and so on and so forth. So, what I am trying to get at here is I have tried a good variety to come to the conclusion of my HG.

As I’m sure you can see my HG is Estée Lauder’s double wear. This stuff is like magic in a glass…you need a small amount a quick buff and your ready to go. You do need to work quick once it’s on your skin because it’s quick drying and can go a bit cakey if you don’t work quick enough. It doesn’t like being topped up either, I can’t add over the top during the day or it goes awful, but not very often do I feel like I need to do anything with it. By topping up I mean concealer rather than powder, powder seems ok but you shouldn’t really need to reapply to be honest if you set it in a morning. For such a long lasting, full coverage foundation it has quite a natural look, it doesn’t look like your wearing a mask, it doesn’t feel thick and sticky and it’s easy enough to take off on a night, which is a definite plus for me!

Sometimes, if I feel like my skin is particularly oily and spotty I will use a primer, my primer of choice at the moment is from The BodyShop and is the new InstaBlur. I was influenced to buy this by Dizzy Brunette3, I love her blog and had seen this one being raved about so succumbed to the hype, to be honest I don’t think I’m a fan, it’s pretty meh! It’s silicone based and I feel it doesn’t spread very well and makes my foundation separate in patches that are a bit drier, I haven’t used it that many times though so maybe I just need to play around with it :-/ To apply my foundation I use the Real Techniques expert face brush. LOVE! It makes applying foundation effortless and gives a stunning finish!

It’s just one foundation that I reach for over all others, I don’t need to worry about it when I wear it, I trust the brand and I would recommend it to anyone with similar skin to me. It’s defiantly readily available, I buy mine from Debenhams, but I know it’s stocked in House of Fraser, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols, some larger Boots….and I’m sure many more. If your lucky you can sometimes grab it at outlet stores too, I’ve picked it up from Cheshire Oaks OCC for a bargain price of £18, oh for reference it retails at £28.50, and I wear Ivory Beige 🙂

Laura

X

 

 

Leave a Reply

