My Hair Routine

I’ll be honest, I don’t have super soft, thick, shiny hair. Quite the opposite. I have frizzy, dry, unmanageable coarse hair. Think Monica from friends after a blow dry. I have dyed it one too many times over the years, odd use of bleach too, so I probably only have myself to blame. However, over that last, maybe year, I have really tried to give my hair a break and let it repair itself.

On an average week I wash my hair twice; Thursdays and Sundays. I straighten it probably on average once a week, and without fail use a heat protectant, I also let my hair dry naturally instead of blow drying. My hair is wavy naturally but not that gorgeous beachy natural wave, think more like Princess Fiona haha! During the week at work, I tend to tie my hair in just a messy bun so it’s out of the way and I don’t mess with it.

image

So, on a daily basis I use the below products:

image

I’m not loyal to one particular hairspray, I will flitter between what I hear other people rave about or what’s on a promotion. All I really need it to do is tame my frizzies and it does the job just fine. I’m the same with heat protector too, so long as it’s infused with argan oil or Moroccan oil I’m happy to give it a whirl.

However, I am picky with hair oil. I hate those really thick, gloppy, sticky ones that weigh your hair down and make it look greasy! I have tried so many hair oils but this is the only one I have repurchased. This is a brand called ORS from boots, I apply it through the lengths of my hair everyday and it never looks greasy and gives enough moisture to my brittle hair. It’s also really affordable, it’s under the £5 make which is amazing for a decent hair oil. I think it’s aimed at Afro Caribbean hair but for anyone with dry hair this is a winner in my books. If your in need of a new oil check out the boots website and take a look at the reviews, it always scores highly 🙂

The tangle teaser is the best hair invention, ever! This is the only brush that doesn’t pull half my head of hair out with it, it somehow manages to just glide through the knots without snagging.

Toward the end of the week when my hairs due a wash I add a bit of dry shampoo just to give a bit of life, more so to my fringe that anywhere. When I wear my hair down I add this to the roots too as it gives loads of volume. I always use batiste dry shampoo, it doesn’t leave me with that horrible white residue like some tend to do.

image  image

Hope you enjoyed tonight’s post

Laura

X

